Secret Blog Review for Janaki Nagaraj

I love Secret Santa. And when Vinita Bahl announced a blogger version of this popular Christmas game, I was even more excited. But yes, my only regret is that I could not send in my entry before Christmas, and I deeply apologize for not keeping up with the rest of the group. (I am the last person to submit my secret blogger entry :/)

Anyway, we were given names alphabetically and I’m really glad that the name closest to me was someone I have always liked. She looks like Revathi, and writes like Yeats. She is none other Janaki Nagaraj, and she blogs at http://janakinagaraj.com/

She does not need much introduction at all – bloggers, budding poets and authors – everyone knows of her. From poetry to fiction to random musings, from book reviews to blogger meets, from prompts and contests to photo blogs, from guest posts to partnering the High Priestess with Indiblogeshwaris to getting featured in an anthology of poems; she has done it all! One google search on Janaki Nagaraj, and you know that you’re dealing with an online celebrity! Frankly, I was a little intimidated, but more excited to review her blog. Here it goes!

Being a sucker for designs, the first thing I did was judge the aesthetic value of her blog – and it was just like Janaki herself. Quiet, simple, understated yet beautiful, uncomplicated. What you see is what you get. The widgets at the left hand side were minimal and relevant… though I did think that social network plugins would help people connect with her beyond her blog too :)

She loves quotes and poems, and that is evident in almost every post… and the header of her blog too! (this one, I absolutely love!) 
Picture1

(In case the print is too small:

“In your light I learn how to love. In your beauty, how to make poems. You dance inside my chest where no-one sees you, but sometimes I do, and that sight becomes this art.” ― Rumi)

I’ve noticed this about Janaki’s writing style is that she believes in creating intrigue throughout the post and the reveal leaves you craving for more. She does not fall into the trap of writing words that makes one dig out a dictionary after every sentence (ok, there are a few, but it’s worth the effort).  Her writing is simple yet evocative, and she knows how to tell a good story without any additional unnecessary drama that other writers usually resort to. Her settings are usually the ones she is familiar with and her random musings are pleasant and refreshing. Each one of them struck a chord with me! :)

Besides the articles in her archive, I clicked on this tab called Vithika – which states that it is Nidhi’s Photo Gallery. Curious to know more, I scrolled down and found some amazing posts here too. (PS: I figured that she documents her photo blogs under this tab ;)
This is something I am not clear about since I am new to it, but I do think that she features guest posts/ writers that she stumbles upon under the title of ‘inspirations’.
Here are some of my favourite posts from her blog:
With if-you-cannot-understand-my-silence, she manages to bring a sensitive topic out in the open and the conversations in the comments section of this post prove that she manages to connect with her audiences very well. Her writing voices a common sentiment and this is what sets her apart.
Indiblogger, Blogadda, Photokatha, Indiblogeshwaris, Poetry Jam (the list can go on and on…) – Janaki’s presence across blogging networks and other sites is very encouraging and makes me want to get off my lazy ass and be a lil more prompt with my posts (I’ve put that on my 2014 resolution checklist! ;)
Thank you BlogwatiG for this opportunity to review JanakiNagaraj ‘s blog and be her secret blogger elf…  and for reviving my love for poetry (since FYBA literature classes!) :P
12 thoughts on “Secret Blog Review for Janaki Nagaraj

  1. Lucille….am over the top. Thank you so much for the wonderful blog review. You have not just made my day but the wait worthwhile. The smile is plastered on my face <3

  2. Very beautiful review for a beautiful blogger !!!
    Totally agree with you on the aspect of her fiction and poems – I just cant do both with the ease she does !!

  3. Janaki is surely one of my favorite people. And when you are an awesome person, it shines through in your writing too.

    Your review, though a little late, more than did justice to her blog.

    Good job elf!

Leave a Reply

